Michael W. Smith To Host 32nd Annual Dove Awards

Michael W. Smith will host the 32nd Annual Dove Awards with double national television coverage during the eight days following the live award ceremony. The Doves, which will be held on April 26th at the Grand Ole Opry House, will be televised nationally on PAX-TV on Saturday, April 28th (9pm ET/PT and 8pm CT/MT). The following Friday, May 4, Superstation WGN- TV, which is in more than 50 million U.S. television households, will air the Dove Awards at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT and 5 p.m. PT.

The Dove Awards will be produced live to tape on Thursday, April 26 at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville.

“This coverage is unprecedented in our show’s history. Our goal for 2001 was to move away from a syndication environment that made it difficult for fans to find our show. Securing one national broadcast outlet in prime time has been our goal for the Dove Awards. The second national primetime airing is even better for our mission to raise the awareness of contemporary Christian and gospel music,” said Breeden.

In addition to the television agreements, Breeden also announced that Feed the Children has been selected as the official charity for the awards show and Reunion Recording Artist Michael W. Smith has signed on as a host for the Dove Awards.

As the official charity of the 32nd Annual Dove Awards, Feed the Children, the third largest U.S. charity involved in global aid, will participate in a major food collection drive in Nashville during the Gospel Music Week convention, which leads up to the Dove Awards. Additionally, Feed the Children will be featured prominently in the Dove Awards telecast, with celebrity testimonies and a tribute to the relief organization founders, Larry and Frances Jones.

“Charity is an important part of the way our industry communicates the good
news of the Gospel, which is the foundation of our music. What better way to put our music into action than to partner with Feed the Children, an organization that demonstrates the gospel in the most fundamental way,” Breeden said.

“Feed the Children has enjoyed the support of many artists in the Christian and Gospel music industry, and we have had a desire to strengthen our partnership with the industry. Together, I believe we can accomplish great things and bring benefit to children all over the world,” said Feed the Children Founder and President Larry Jones.

Michael W. Smith is a nominee this year for seven Dove Awards and last hosted the Dove Awards in 1996. Since the release of his debut album in 983, Smith has garnered 25 Dove Awards; two Grammy Awards; an American Music Award; one platinum album; eight gold albums; and 25 #1 Christian radio singles. Smith’s latest recording, Freedom, released in November 2000 and debuted at #1 on SoundScan’s Top Christian Albums chart, marking the highest debut for an instrumental album in the history of SoundScan’s Christian charts.

“This has been an extraordinary year for Christian music. We have seen more artistic creativity and diversity than I can ever remember,” said Smith. “I’m honored to be an ambassador of sorts to introduce to a national audience some of the great artists creating this inspiring music.”

Several performances have been confirmed for the Dove Awards. Yolanda Adams, Avalon, Rachael Lampa, Mary Mary, Donnie McClurkin, Nicole C. Mullen,
The O.C. Supertones, Stacie Orrico, Point of Grace, Mark Schultz, Third Day and Jaci Velasquez are some of the performers confirmed for the telecast. Additional performers and presenters will be announced in the coming weeks on the official website, www.doveawards.com.

R.A. Clark, Sr. Vice President of production and programming for dick clark productions and Breeden also announced that Nashville veteran and four-time Dove Awards producer Bob Gordon has been added to produce the show. They
also named California-based director Clay Jacobsen as director for the broadcast.

The television broadcast will receive unprecedented promotions, according to Breeden. Both networks will build extensive on-air promotions for their prime time broadcasts. Additionally, the National Association of Recording Merchandisers (NARM) and the Christian Booksellers Association (CBA) have committed to retail point of purchase promotions at more than 7,000 etailers in the United States.

Artist of the Year; Steven Curtis Chapman, P.O.D., Michael W. Smith, Third Day and Jaci Velasquez.
Group of the Year; Avalon, P.O.D., Plus One, Point of Grace and Third Day.
Male Vocalist of the Year; Steven Curtis Chapman, Fernando Ortega, Mac Powell, Mark Schultz and Michael W. Smith.
Female Vocalist of the Year; Yolanda Adams, Rachael Lampa, Nicole C. Mullen, Nichole Nordeman and Jaci Velasquez.
New Artist of the Year; Rachael Lampa, Mary Mary, Stacie Orrico, Plus One and Mark Schultz. Song of the Year; “Dive,” Steven Curtis Chapman; Sparrow Song, Peach Hill Songs (BMI) “Don’t Look at Me,” Stacie Orrico, Mark Heimermann; Star-Struck Music, Fun Attic Music (ASCAP) “Every Season,” Nichole Nordeman; Ariose Music (ASCAP) “God of Wonders,” Marc Byrd, Steve Hindalong; New Spring Publishing, Never Say Never Songs (ASCAP), Storm Boy Music (BMI) “He’s My Son,” Mark Schultz; Mark Schultz Music (BMI) “He’s Still Waiting by the Well,” Rodney Griffin; Songs of Greater Vision (BMI) “I Could Sing of Your Love Forever,” Martin Smith; Curious? Music UK (ASCAP) “If You Want Me To,” Ginny Owens, Kyle Matthews; Above the im Music, BMG Songs (Gospel Division) (ASCAP) “Imagine Me Without You,” Rudy Perez; Rubet Music Publishing (ASCAP) “Redeemer,” Nicole C. Mullen; Seat of the Pants Music (ASCAP) Wordspring Music, Inc., Lil’ Ja’ Music (SESAC) “Written on My Heart,” Eric Foster White, Stephanie Lewis; Chalante Music, Zomba Enterprises, Inc., Universal Music, efw music, inc. (ASCAP)

type=”submit” value=”Press here to tell a friend about this site!”


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)