Sixpence None The Richer Completes “Divine Discontent”

Sixpence None The Richer have completed production on their forthcoming CD release Divine Discontent with the Crowded
House classic “Don’t Dream It’s Over.” Band leader Matt Slocum notes that “My first introduction to the inimitable and brilliant songwriting of Neil
Finn was hearing “Don’t Dream It’s Over” on the radio in my early teens, and I became an instant Crowded House fan. In covering such a pop classic
there is always the challenge of answering the question – how can we possibly make this any better? The challenge is especially difficult when the
production minds of Mitchell Froom and Tchad Blake have crafted the arrangement and sonics on such a high level. Producer Rob Cavallo and Alan Sides
came to the table and helped the band to deliver a version that I hope will make Neil proud. I think Leigh Nash’s passionate vocal is what makes
Sixpence’s version ultimately unique; the phrasing and range of Neil’s melody fit her voice perfectly.” Leigh adds ” I have been inspired by the beauty and
simplicity of Neil Finn’s voice for a long time. Recording “Don’t Dream It’s Over” was a pleasure for me and I hope we’ve done the song justice.”
Divine Discontent is slated for release on October 29 with “Breathe Your Name” being the first single and video. “Breathe Your Name” will be in-stores
on October 1. and will contain the unreleased non-album track “Northern Lights” as the b-side.
In addition, Sixpence None The Richer is one of the first bands to publicly sponsor U2’s Bono in his DATA initiative for Africa. Matt Slocum
says “Seeing the devastation caused by the AIDS virus in Africa, as well as the seemingly unending debt that continues to drive the African government to
plunder its natural resources for more interest payments, compels one to speak up and advocate the need for all citizens of the world to unite in helping
Warner Bros. Records Christian Division, a division of Word Entertainment, a Warner/Curb company, is home to both the Word and Squint record labels.
The artist roster heralds some of today’s top Christian music performers and songwriters including Amy Grant, Point of Grace, Jaci Velasquez, Sixpence
None The Richer, Sandi Patty, Rachael Lampa, Nicole C. Mullen and Mark Schultz. Warner Bros. Records Christian Division and its distributor Word
Distribution lead the industry with over fifty years of music making history.


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)