In The Name Of Love: Artists United for Africa

On January 27, 2004, Sparrow Records will release In The Name Of Love: Artists United for Africa, a benefit album that features the Christian artist community recording hits made popular by the world-renowned rock group U2. This album is the answer to a call for action made by Bono, frontman and lead singer of U2, to awaken the church to the crisis in Africa. The artists include Sixpence None The Richer, Jars of Clay, Nichole Nordeman, Delirious, Audio Adrenaline, tobyMac, Tait, Chris Tomlin, Pillar, Grits, Sanctus Real and more. A complete artist and song listing is below.
In December of 2002, Bono met with several Christian artists and industry leaders in Nashville to share his heart and ask for their help in bringing awareness to the emergency in Africa. His call to the Christian music community was to help “awaken the church” to the crisis in Africa. In The Name of Love is an answer to that call and stands as a heartfelt tribute and a practical means to channel prayer and resources to fight against AIDS in Africa.
“The goal of this album is to inform the Christian community about the crisis in Africa,” states Peter York, Sparrow Records President. “Bono has been a powerful voice in raising awareness with this issue and it’s important for the Christian community to come alongside and help support this cause.”
In addition, the cover and packaging for In The Name Of Love was designed under the creative direction of Steve Averill of Four 5 One Design, who has created the artwork for virtually all of U2 albums.
A portion of the proceeds from In The Name Of Love: Artists United For Africa will go directly to help fight the African AIDS crisis. In addition, the CD will be enhanced and will feature written excerpts from Walk On: The Spiritual Journey of U2 (Relevant Books) and The aWAKE Project: Uniting Against the African AIDS Crisis (Thomas Nelson). The first single released to radio will be “Beautiful Day” from Sanctus Real to CHR and Rock Radio formats and will go for adds on October 31st.
Track listing (in no particular order):
Jars Of Clay–All I Want Is You
Sixpence None The Richer–Love Is Blindness
Nichole Nordeman -Grace
tobyMac–Mysterious Ways
Audio Adrenaline-Gloria
Pillar–Sunday Bloody Sunday
Chris Tomlin–Where The Streets Have No Name
Grits–With Or Without You
Todd Agnew–When Love Came To Town
Sanctus Real–Beautiful Day


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)