Songwriter of the Year Nominees

The Gospel Music Association (GMA) today announced the final nominees for the Dove Award for Songwriter of the Year, to be presented at the 37th Annual GMA Music Awards. The nominees are Mark Hall, Mac Powell, Laura Story, Chris Tomlin and Christa Wells. The recipient of the Dove Award for Songwriter of the Year will be named during the awards show on April 5 at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville. Tickets are available at
“The Songwriter of the Year is an important honor in gospel music. We congratulate these nominees for their songwriting success in the past year, and more significantly, for the many lives they touched with their songwriting gifts,” said John W. Styll, president of the GMA.
In addition to other songs they have written, each songwriter is nominated in the Song of the Year category. Mark Hall wrote “Lifesong” and “Voice of Truth,” a song he co-wrote with Steven Curtis Chapman. Powell penned “Cry Out to Jesus” with his Third Day band mates Tai Anderson, Brad Avery, David Carr and Mark Lee. Story wrote “Indescribable” with Jesse Reeves, a song recorded by Tomlin, who himself composed “Holy is the Lord” (co-written with Louie Giglio) and “How Great is Our God” (Reeves and Ed Cash co-writers). Christa Wells wrote the song “Held,” recorded by Natalie Grant.
Founded in 1964, the 4,000-member Gospel Music Association is dedicated to exposing, promoting and celebrating the gospel through music. The GMA represents all styles of gospel music including contemporary pop, rock, urban gospel, praise & worship, Southern gospel, country and children’s gospel music. The GMA produces the GMA Music Awardsä, which recognizes achievement in all genres of gospel music and are voted on by members of the GMA.
Check for concert and tour dates on our CALENDAR).
Buy products from these artists on SALE at the CHRISTIAN ACTIVITIES MUSIC & BOOK STORE

Swag out with Christian Activities Merchandise!



Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)