Leigh Nash of Sixpence to Realease New Solo Album




Album Is First of Three New Projects on Kingsway
Leigh Nash, perhaps best known as the dynamic, angelic-voiced lead singer of platinum-selling pop group Sixpence None the Richer, now offers her favorite, newly recorded Hymns & Sacred Songs Nov. 15 from Kingsway with EMI CMG Distribution in the US. The first of three new albums from Nash on Kingsway, these songs are a combination of fresh, newly written hymns alongside songs that have reverberated across generations, giving a voice to the faithful around the world. The timeless lyrics of hymns by Charles Wesley, Fanny Crosby and other writers of old, have been given fresh life with Nash singing and writing newly inspired melodies.
Produced by John Hartley (Rebecca St. James, Matt Redman, Stuart Townend), Hymns & Sacred Songs was recorded and mixed by Derri Daugherty (Jeremy Camp, Leeland, The Choir) who also produced Sixpence None the Richer’s Dawn of Grace (2008). With additional recording by Stephen Leiweke (Rita Springer, Chris Sligh, MIKESCHAIR) and mixing by Shane Wilson (Switchfoot, Newsboys, Passion), the album also features Stu G (Delirious?, Casting Crowns, Michael W. Smith) on guitar, Paul Mabury (Hillsong, Steven Curtis Chapman, Brandon Heath) on drums, Matt Stanfield (Mandisa, Britt Nicole, Plumb) on keys and Chris Donahue on bass.
“I am so very thankful for the opportunity to sing these words and even get to infuse some of them with new melodies,” says Leigh Nash. “It is a gift above any I can presently think of, to sing to my God! The musicians, producer and engineers are all so gifted and the songs so rich in word and melody that my feet were dancing and my heart was constantly lifted throughout the recording of this record! I pray you will have the same symptoms!
“I was really excited by the idea of making a record of hymns,” continues Nash. “I grew up loving singing in the congregation at my church, always wishing to have the courage to sing solos in the church choir. I finally got my solos in the form of this record!”
In addition to Wesley and Crosby, the album features hymns by Dorothy A. Thrupp, Robert Robinson and Katherina A. von Schlegel, as well as newly written songs by Nash, Graham Kendrick, Keith Getty, Stuart Townend, Aaron Keyes, Katie Gustafson and more.
“The songs were basically chosen because of their lyrics,” says Nash. “These words are so poetic and beautiful, the perfect inspiration to write new melodies.”
“Listening to Leigh’s unique vocal stylings over these hymns and sacred songs gives the listener a new appreciation for not only the hymns of old, but for the new hymns of the future,” says Steve Nicolle, Kingsway Music VP, North America. “We are blessed to be in a ministry partnership with Leigh, and we are looking forward to partnering with her in hymns and songs of worship for many years to come.”
The full Hymns & Sacred Songs track listing follows:
Savior Like A Shepherd (Blessed Jesus)
Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing
Isaiah 55
Oh Heart Bereaved and Lonely
The Power of the Cross
Give Myself To You
Come Ye Thankful People Come
Blessed Redeemer
Out of My Bondage
Song of Moses
Praise The Lord Who Reigns Above
Be Still My Soul
Leigh Nash has been performing since her high school days growing up in New Braunfels, TX. It was there that she met guitarist Matt Slocum and Sixpence came to fruition. Following four album releases, multiple Dove Awards, a GRAMMY nomination and the great success of their hit singles “Kiss Me,” “There She Goes” and “Breathe Your Name,” the band took a hiatus in 2004. Leigh took this time to release a solo record entitled Blue on Blue and a Christmas album Wishing For This, both in 2006, as well as collaborated with members of Delerium for the album, Fauxliage (2007). In 2008, Nash and Slocum reunited as Sixpence None the Richer to record Dawn of Grace, a holiday album fans had long requested. Last year, Leigh lent her voice on projects by Amy Grant, Jars of Clay, Matthew West and others.
More information on Leigh Nash can be found at Facebook and MySpace.
About Kingsway:
Tracing its music heritage to 1969, Kingsway today is known as a leader in Worship Music. As the creator of Thank You Music, and later in partnership with EMI, its catalogue includes songs such as “Here I Am to Worship,” “In Christ Alone,” “Everlasting God” and “Blessed Be Your Name” to name a few.
Kingsway’s songs are sung in more than 300,000 churches worldwide accounting for over 30% of CCLI’s (Church Copyright Licensing International) bestseller list. With writers and artists like Tim Hughes, Matt Redman, Delirious?, Graham Kendrick and Stuart Townend, Kingsway is dedicated to feeding the Church with songs that will change the world. As part of David C Cook, a non-profit organization located in Colorado Springs, CO, a significant portion of the profits that Kingsway and David C Cook generate are used to provide discipleship and music materials free of charge to church leaders in developing parts of the world who wouldn’t be able to get them any other way. More info at www.kingswayworship.com
Related Articles:
Switchfoot releases new album with headlining fall tour, appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live

Use this link to shop Amazon.com and support Christian Activities


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)