It’s A Wonderful Christmas on October 16!



Michael W. Smith, an iconic artist loved and respected for his immense creativity, leadership and heart for others, announces the release of his 20th studio albumIt’s A Wonderful Christmas, on Reunion Records, October 16th.
Over the years, people have come to respect Smith as a man of many gifts. He’s written and recorded pop music that has infused America’s cultural climate with hope. He’s a gifted worship leader that has drawn other believers closer to God through his songs. However, there’s no denying that one of his greatest gifts is simply as a composer. That passion for creating new music abounds on It’s A Wonderful Christmas, a powerful collection of songs that reverberate with Smith’s heartfelt connection to that most special season.
Like his musical hero John Williams (composer of film scores for “Jaws,” “Star Wars,” “Raiders of
the Lost Ark” and “Jurassic Park”), Smith’s work has an epic, cinematic quality that stirs emotions in the listener. It’s the kind of music that is not simply heard; it’s felt. “It’s so big and symphonic,” says Smith, who himself has scored two films, including “Second Chance” in which he also starred. “It
feels like you’re going to get to the end of the record and you’ll want to see the movie. It sounds like
a soundtrack.”
In recording It’s A Wonderful Christmas, Michael enlisted David Hamilton’s expertise with arrangements. Hamilton worked with Michael on his highly acclaimed instrumental album, “Freedom,” and has also toured with Michael.
It’s A Wonderful Christmas features the winning singer-songwriter joining forces with four amazing choirs, among them a 100-voice choir and also a 16-member London boy’s choir directed by John Tobin, and a 67-piece orchestra at London’s Abbey Road studios. Also featured is a duet with American Idol’s Mandisa. As the strings soar and the bells ring, you can almost feel winter’s nip in the air and smell the fragrance of pine trees as Smith’s music puts you in that holiday mood. Smith reveled in the opportunity to record with a 67-piece orchestra, “The arrangements were great. The room is legendary and the players were unbelievable,” he enthuses.
In preparing for his new Christmas collection, he wanted to create an album with the lush arrangements and powerful orchestral sounds that he heard listening to his favorite Christmas
records as a child. He began putting together a list of his favorite tunes, but in a burst of inspiration soon found he’d written more than enough new material to fill the album. The only cover tune is the timeless standard “What Child is This?” which sounds both familiar yet fresh thanks to Smitty’s deft musical reinvention.
It’s A Wonderful Christmas Song List:
1. Christmas Angels
2. It’s A Wonderful Christmas
3. The Promise
4. Song For The King
5. Christmas Day (duet with Mandisa)
6. A Highland Carol
7. Sing Noel, Sing Hallelujah
8. Son of God
9. What Child Is This
10. Audrey’s Gift
11. All Year Long
*Song list and sequence subject to change
In addition, Michael will be hitting the road for a Christmas tour, appropriately titled the,
“It’s A Wonderful Christmas” with special guests, The Katinas. Each date will feature a full symphony orchestra.
Check for It’s A Wonderful Christmas tour dates on our CALENDAR.
Swag out with Christian Activities Merchandise!

Use this link to shop and support Christian Activities


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)