Inspirational Country Awards Given

Alan Jackson’s Precious Memories wins the Inspirational Country Album of the Year and Josh Turner was selected as the Mainstream Country Artist of the Year at the 13th Annual Inspirational Country Music Award Show (ICM awards). Other big winners include, Del Way, winning Entertainer of the Year with Sonya Isaacs taking home Female Vocalist of the Year and Tommy Brandt receiving Male Vocalist of the Year for the second straight year.
The annual award show was held tonight at the historic Acuff Theatre and was taped with a live audience to be aired on several broadcast networks. The show will be seen on four major networks, TCT Networks, NRB Network, FAITH Television, and CTS Television Canada reaching over 180 million subscribers in the United States, Canada and over 170 nations throughout the world.
Award winning comedienne, author and AKA “The Queen of Clean”, Chonda Pierce and multi-award winning Christian artist and TBN radio host, Del Way, spilt the hosting duties. Both brought their warmth, intelligence and observational humor to the microphone for one of the most inspiring nights of music and awards.
Show highlights include, Midas Records artists, Emerson Drive opening the show with a heart- touching, inspirational performance of their #1 song “Moments,” a song dedicated to the band’s former bass player who passed away last month, Patrick Bourque. In addition, Richie McDonald made his first TV performance since leaving the group, Lonestar, singing the hit single he penned, “Hey GOD,” about a simple prayer of thanks.
Award-winning country legend, Lee Greenwood, showed his gospel roots with his performance of “You’ll Never Walk Alone” from the Curb Records’ collection of Inspirational Songs as well the 2003 release Lee Greenwood: Gospel. And Tammy Cochran wowed the audience with her new single, “Where I Am,” off her long awaited album with the same title that just hit the stores and is heading up the charts.
Additional star-studded performances included the 2006 Entertainer of the Year, Mike Hammock, who performed “Safe In The Arms of Love” and Brad Cotter performed his hit single, “GOD’s Fingerprints;” In addition, Mike Manuel, Del Way, the Bellamy Brothers, Blue County, Brad Cotter, CrossCountry, Mary James, Corey Brooks, Sharene Spielman and Branded all performed their inspirational songs on the show.

Presenters included: Rhonda Vincent; Andy Griggs; Rich McCready; Trent Tomlinson; Jason Meadows; Margo Smith and Holly; the Fox Brothers; Lawrence Bishop; James Payne; Sandra Dee; Chunky Nelms; Barry McGee; Miko Marks; Russ Murphy; Laura Bryna, John Sines, Jr.; Greg McDougal; Tommy Brandt; Steve McGranahan; Mike Rimmey; and CMT Loaded host, Charla. Also, Miss Tennessee USA 2008, Hailey Brown and Miss Tennessee Teen USA, Natalie Phillips assisted in presenting the award trophies.
Entertainer of the Year – Del Way
Male Vocalist of the Year – Tommy Brandt
Female Vocalist of the Year – Sonya Isaacs
Vocal Duo of the Year – Branded
Vocal Group of the Year – CrossCountry, The Band
Inspirational Album of the Year – Alan Jackson
Song of the Year – “Back In The Country Again” – Mike Manuel
Songwriter of the Year – Mike Manuel
Mainstream Country Artist – Josh Turner
New Artist of the Year – Russ Murphy
Musician of the Year- Dennis Agajanian
Comedy Act of the Year – Barry McGee
Radio Personality of the Year – Rich Miller
Radio Station of the Year – WCWV/ Summersville, WV
Video of the Year – “Moments”- Emerson Drive
Living Legend Award – James Payne
Inspirational Bluegrass Artist – Lawrence Bishop Band
Youth In Music Award – Matthew Wacaster
Music Evangelist of the Year – Bill Mullis
The Inspirational Country Music Convention is a yearly event that draws music fans, broadcast media (radio, print, and TV) and the industries top artists to Nashville to showcase music and to discuss industry related issues. The member-voted ICM Awards Show.

The Book Shelf – Recommended Reading!
More Great Books!
Christian Activities is on MySpace at:

Use this link to shop and support Christian Activities


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)