Celebrating the Season of Easter

~ The period between now and Pentecost is called “the season of Easter.” ~ 

Celebrating the Season of Easter

The Easter season is here. The ancient church calendar calls this day “the first Sunday after Easter.” The period between now and Pentecost is called “the season of Easter.” Pentecost always falls 50 days after Easter.

What is the Season of Easter?

The Season of Easter, also known as Eastertide, is the period of 50 days, spanning from Easter Sunday to Pentecost Sunday. Pentecost is the festival celebrated by Christians on the Sunday that falls on the 50th day of Easter. This is an excellent time to continue to reflect upon the miracle of the resurrection and the historic establishment of the church.

While the ancient church might have designated a special season for Easter, the truth is that since Christ’s resurrection we are living in the season of Easter every day. We are all living in the miracle of life after death through Christ’s death and resurrection and God’s grace. All of our values and senses of meaning of life are shaped and given depth by the knowledge that there is resurrection: life after death.

Christ is no longer the victim of plotting religious leaders and a corrupt government, but the triumphant Messiah who overcame death who is the victor of our salvation. He has opened the doors of eternal life for those who believe in Him.

Because of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, it is always the season of Easter on earth, every day. Hallelujah!

John 11:25-26: “Jesus said to her, ‘I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?'”

Originally published on April 30, 2012

Related Articles:

Join us on Facebook at Christian Activities


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)