Andrew Peterson Finds The Far Country


Ginny McCabe
Aug 4, 2005

The Far Country

Fervent Records

10 tracks/42:39 minutes

The Far Country, Peterson's sixth album to date and latest Fervent Records effort, continues to build upon his masterful storytelling ability through song as he delivers 10 original acoustic rock numbers that reflect lyrical depth and meaningful ideas.

Peterson draws in a team of talented musicians for the project, including Jill Phillips, bassist Danny O'Lannerghty (Rich Mullins Liturgy/Legacy), percussionist Ken Lewis (Michael Card), and bluegrass fiddler Stuart Duncan (Emmylou Harris). Motown gospel singers Anklejelly Jones and Jimmy Hoyt-Washington also provided vocals on "All Shall Be Well."

Musically, the project incorporates acoustic guitar as the basis, but it has more of a full band sound than his previous efforts and features instrumentation including hammered dulcimer, piano and mandolin.

His unique artistic approach takes listeners on a journey that covers a variety of experiences from having child-like faith in "Little Boy Heart Alive" (inspired by Peterson's two sons); dealing with illness in "The Queen of Iowa" and "Mystery of Mercy," which boasts about the depth of God's love for all of us.
Another highlight is the song "More," which is a song about life beyond the struggle of living that Peterson co-wrote with critically acclaimed folk artist, Pierce Pettis.

Peterson's honesty and depth set him apart as one of today's premiere songwriters. Many compare him to Rich Mullins because of ability to poetically, yet light-heartedly tell stories through song. These songs are hopeful and refreshing and remind listeners that we all have a longing for Heaven.


Swag out with Christian Activities Merchandise!