Capitol Christian Music Group Nabs 107 2022 GMA Dove Award Nominations

The Gospel Music Association announced nominees for the 53rd Annual GMA Dove Awards on August 10th. Among these nominees, Daywind Music Group accrued 9, including “Inspirational Album of the Year,” “Southern Gospel Album of the Year,” and more! Additionally, Wayne Haun, Daywind songwriter and producer of three of Daywind’s nominated songs/albums was a final nominee for Producer of the Year.  

Dusty Wells, Director of Artist and Label Relations for Daywind Records, states, “We are so grateful for the GMA and its constant support for the music that our family of artists and labels are creating and bringing forth to the world. As always, we are humbly thrilled when projects we have overseen and artists we have worked closely with are nominated in the different genres of music, and this year is no exception. Thank you to everyone who is a part of the Gospel Music Association who took time to listen to the music and vote. Congrats to all of the artists, producers, songwriters, labels, players who are nominated in the different categories. Let’s all keep making music that touches the heart of the listener with the message of Jesus and His love for us.”

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year

“God Is Real” – The Sound (Jacob Mills, Levi Mills, Robert Mills, Sue C. Smith and Barry Weeks, songwriters)

“In The Sweet By And By” – Dolly Parton, ft. Larry Cordle, Carl Jackson, Jerry Salley, and Bradley Walker

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

“Answer Is Jesus” – Karen Peck & New River (Karen Peck Gooch, Lee Black, and Kenna Turner West, songwriters)

“Child of the King” – Joseph Habedank (Joseph Habedank, Don Koch, and Dave Clark, songwriters)

Southern Gospel Album of the Year
2:22 – Karen Peck & New River

Inspirational Album of the Year

Beloved – Lee Black

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the YearCountry Faith Bluegrass – Various Artists (featuring original recordings by Dolly Parton, Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers, Dale Ann Bradley, Isaacs, Steeldrivers, Caeland Garner, Darin and Brooke Aldridge, Balsam Range, Marty Raybon, Jerry Salley, Larry Cordle, Bradley Walker, and Carl Jackson) God Is Real – The Sound

Musical/Choral Collection of the YearRun to the Hope – A Christmas Musical (Creators: Karen Peck Gooch, Mike Harland, and Lee Black.) (Arrangers/Orchestrators: Cliff Duren, Phillip Keveren, Phil Nitz, and Jay Rouse) A&R and Creative Director of Billy Blue Records, Jerry Salley, commented on their Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year nomination, “The opportunity to produce “In The Sweet By And By” on the legendary Dolly Parton is one of the greatest honors of my career. Working with her was such a pleasure, and singing on it along with my talented friends Bradley Walker, Carl Jackson, and Larry Cordle was a true blessing! I am grateful to all of the voting members who have recognized her beautifully moving vocal on this very special arrangement. Thank you all!”

Salley also commented on the Country Faith Album of the Year nomination, stating, “Working with incredibly talented people makes a producer’s job much easier! Every single artist appearing on the Country Faith Bluegrass album brought their own unique sound to their respective track. What a blessing it has been to work with each one of them. We are all grateful for the opportunity to work together and humbled by this recognition!”

The GMA Dove Awards Nashville event will be held October 18th and will air exclusively on TBN and the TBN app, Friday, October 21st, 2022, at 8:00p.m. ET and 10:00p.m. ET. Tune in to watch!

Since 1964, the Gospel Music Association’s mission has been to expose, promote and celebrate the Gospel through music. As a trade organization, the GMA serves creatives and professionals within the Christian and Gospel music industry. It supports this richly diverse community by providing for basic needs through the GMA Foundation, preserving the legacies of the genre’s trailblazers through the GMA Gospel Music Hall of Fame, and celebrating the work of today’s artists through events like the GMA Dove Awards – which reaches millions of people around the world annually.

What Is Daywind Music Group?

Daywind Music Group is home to an award-winning roster of artists and songwriters including Adam Crabb, Barry Weeks, Belinda Smith, Blackwood Brothers, Brian Free & Assurance, Clint Brown, Crabb Family, Devin McGlamery, Dianne Wilkinson, Greater Vision, High Road, Jacob Mills, Janice Crow, Jason Cox, Jim & Melissa Brady, Jody Braselton, John Darin Rowsey, Jonathon Wilburn, Joseph Habedank, Karen Peck & New River, Karen Peck Gooch, Kim Hopper, Lee Black, LeFevre Quartet, Levi Mills, Marty Funderburk, Michael Booth, Mike Harland, Natalie Cromwell, Nathan Woodard, Nelons, Rob Mills, Seth Elbe, The Sound, Southbound, Sue C. Smith, Tim Lovelace, Tim Menzies, Tribute Quartet, and Wayne Haun. Daywind is distributed to retail through New Day Christian Distributors and the Orchard, covering all major physical, digital, and streaming outlets. Daywind Official site.

Leave a Comment


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)