42nd Annual Dove Awards awarded in Atlanta, GA

In Nashville the 42nd Annual Dove Awards went by without much fanfare, because the Gospel Music Association chose to hold the event in Atlanta instead of their normal home of Music City. While many locals wondered why the GMA had not elected to help bring much-needed business to Nashville after the May flood of last year, such ponderings did not impact Gospel Music’s most celebrated night as the 2011 GMA Dove Awards were handed out at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta, Georgia on April 20.
Christian music’s biggest event was hosted by TV host and comedienne Sherri Shepherd and will be televised on GMC on Sunday, April 24 at 7 p.m. PT. The 42nd Dove Awards winners were announced including the following key winners.
Key 2011 Dove Award Winners
The Dove Awards in the overall categories went to:
Artist of the Year: Francesca Battistelli
Female Vocalist of the Year: Francesca Battistelli
Male Vocalist of the Year: Chris August
Group of the Year: NeedToBreathe
New Artist of the Year: Chris August
Song of the Year: “Sometimes I Cry”; Jason Crabb (artist), Gerald Crabb, Christian Taylor Music (BMI)
Songwriter of the Year: Gerald Crabb
Producer of the Year: Ian Eskelin
Incoming GMA Chairman of the Board Mitchell Solerek commented, “What an amazing night of music and honor. Tonight’s performances were all a testament to why we are all here. On behalf of the membership of the GMA, we are proud to present this year’s Dove winners and congratulate each of them and the nominees on their achievements. We would also like to thank the city of Atlanta and the ACVB for all their efforts in making this year’s Dove Awards an unprecedented success.”
Click HERE for the Complete list of 42nd Annual Dove Awards winners.
Click here for great skincare: www.kathryndarden.com
Join the discussion on Facebook


Use this link to shop Amazon.com and support Christian Activities


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)