37th Annual GMA Music Awards Recipients

All photos by Kathryn E. Darden for ChristianActivities.com

Artist/songwriter Chris Tomlin became the 2006 Dove Award Artist of the Year tonight, while earning four other Doves at the 37th Annual GMA Music Awards, announced John W. Styll, president of the Gospel Music Association (GMA) and executive producer of the GMA Music Awards.
The GMA Music Awards is gospel music’s biggest night of the year, where top artists from every style of gospel music come together for a night of music and celebration as the GMA bestows gospel music’s highest honor ? the Dove Award. Hosted by Rebecca St. James and Kirk Franklin, the GMA Music Awards were presented live at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville. The awards show will air in national syndication April 15 to May 21, 2006.
Tomlin was one of 37 different artists who won Dove Awards, including Steven Curtis Chapman, who received his 50th trophy, an accomplishment unmatched by any other major award show winner. Tomlin?s co-writer and producer Ed Cash was one of the evening?s other big winners, earning four Doves including Producer of the Year. David Crowder Band and lead member David Crowder were three-time winners along with their producer Tedd T.

“There were many spirit-filled and joyful moments during this year’s GMA Music Awards, and it is always great to see new faces emerge alongside already established artists, linking the past to the present and offering a glimpse into the future of gospel music,” said Styll. “Nowhere was that more apparent than in the poignant symbolism of Chris Tomlin’s arriving into the spotlight as this year’s most honored artist in gospel music on the same night that Steven Curtis Chapman reached the newer artists as he did when he invited Chris to tour with him last year. The storyline of these two artists has now been forever connected by their achievements tonight.”
The 2006 Dove Award Winners:
Song of the Year “How Great is Our God”; Chris Tomlin, Jesse Reeves, Ed Cash; Worshiptogether.com Songs (ASCAP), sixsteps Music (ASCAP), Alletrope Music (BMI)

Songwriter of the Year Christa Wells

Male Vocalist of the Year Chris Tomlin

Female Vocalist of the Year Natalie Grant

Group of the Year Casting Crowns

Artist of the Year Chris Tomlin

New Artist of the Year The Afters

Producer of the Year Ed Cash
Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year “Trainwreck”; Bullet; Mat Kearney; Mat Kearney, Robert Marvin; Inpop Records

Rock Recorded Song of the Year “The Slam”; Welcome to Diverse City; tobyMac featuring T-Bone; Toby McKeehan, Christopher Stevens, Joe Weber, T-Bone; Forefront Records

Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year “Here is Our King”; A Collision; David Crowder Band; David Crowder; sixsteps Records/Sparrow Records

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year “Cry Out to Jesus”; Wherever You Are; Third Day; Mac Powell, Tai Anderson, Brad Avery, David Carr, Mark Lee; Essential Records

Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year “In Christ Alone”; WOW #1’s; Brian Littrell; Don Koch, Shawn Craig; Reunion Records

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year Tie:
“Long As I Got King Jesus”; Live in NYC; Brian Free & Assurance; James Cleveland; Daywind Music Group
“Through the Fire”; Live at Brooklyn Tabernacle; Crabb Family featuring Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir; Gerald Crabb; Daywind Music Group
Bluegrass Recorded Song of the Year “Living Prayer”; Lonely Runs Both Ways; Alison Krauss & Union Station; Ronald Block; Rounder Records

Country Recorded Song of the Year “Jesus, Take the Wheel”; Some Hearts; Carrie Underwood; Brett James, Hillary Lindsey, Gordie Sampson; Arista/Arista Nashville/19 Recordings

Urban Recorded Song of the Year “Looking for You”; Hero; Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin, Patrice Rushen, Charles Mims, Shereelynn Brown, Fred Washington; Fo Yo Soul/Zomba

Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year “God Blocked It”; One Church Project; Kurt Carr; Kurt Carr; Gospo Centric/Zomba

Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year “Not Forgotten”; Alive In South Africa; Israel & New Breed; Israel Houghton, Aaron W. Lindsey; Integrity Gospel

Worship Song of the Year “How Great is Our God”; Chris Tomlin, Jesse Reeves, Ed Cash; Worshiptogether.com Songs, sixsteps Music, Alletrope Music
Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year Behind the Musik; KJ-52; Aaron Sprinkle, Todd Collins, Tedd T., KJ-52; BEC Recordings/Uprok Records
Rock Album of the Year Mmhmm; Relient K; Mark Lee Townsend, Matthew Theissen; Gotee Records/Capitol Records

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year A Collision; David Crowder Band; David Crowder, Jason Solley, Mike Hogan, Jack Parker, Mike Dodson, Jeremy Bush, Tedd T.; sixsteps Records/Sparrow Records

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year Lifesong; Casting Crowns; Mark A. Miller; Beachstreet Records/ Reunion Records

Inspirational Album of the Year Tie:
Hymned; Bart Millard; Brown Bannister, Bart Millard; Simple Records/INO Records
Rock of Ages…Hymns & Faith; Amy Grant; Brown Bannister, Vince Gill; Word Records

Southern Gospel Album of the Year Live at Brooklyn Tabernacle; Crabb Family; Jason Crabb, Adam Crabb, Aaron Crabb, Kelly Bowling; Daywind Music Group

Bluegrass Album of the Year One Rose; Lewis Family; Wayne Haun; Thoroughbred Records

Country Album of the Year Glory Train; Randy Travis; Kyle Lehning; Word Records

Urban Album of the Year Hero; Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin, Chris Godbey, Shaun Martin; Fo Yo Soul/Zomba

Traditional Gospel Album of the Year Atom Bomb; Blind Boys of Alabama; John Chelew; Narada/EMI Gospel

Contemporary Gospel Album of the Year Mary Mary; Mary Mary; Warryn Campbell, Dontae Winslow, Nisan Stewart, Steve Huff, Charlie Beveal, Kenny Beveal, Jazz Nixon; Sony Urban/ Columbia/My Block

Praise & Worship Album of the Year Blessed Be Your Name The Songs of Matt Redman Vol. 1; Matt Redman, Nathan Nockels; Sparrow Records/sixstepsrecords

Instrumental Album of the Year Life; Andy Hunter; Tedd T., Andy Hunter; Sparrow Records

Children’s Music Album of the Year Absolute Modern Worship for Kids; Various; Craig Adams; Fervent Records

Spanish Language Album of the Year Leonardo; Leonardo; Isaac Hernandez, Leonardo Villanueva; Lamon Records

Special Event Album of the Year Music Inspired by the Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe; Jeremy Camp, Steven Curtis Chapman, David Crowder Band, Delirious?, Bethany Dillon, Jars of Clay, Kutless, Nichole Nordeman, Rebecca St. James, tobyMac, Chris Tomlin; Ed Cash, Steven Curtis Chapman, David Crowder, Andy Dodd, Sam Gibson, Dan Haseltine, Charlie Lowell, Steve Mason, Matt Odmark, Jay Joyce, Shaun Shenkel, Aaron Sprinkle, Toby McKeehan, Adam Watts, Christopher Stevens, Mitch Dane; Sparrow Records

Musical of the Year Grace That Amazes; Claire Cloninger, Lari Goss; Word Music

Youth/Children’s Musical of the Year His Renown; Steven V. Taylor, Louie Giglio; Word Music

Choral Collection of the Year Seasons of Praise; Carol Cymbala; Brooklyn Tabernacle Music

Recorded Music Packaging of the Year Redemption Songs (Jars of Clay); Stephanie McBrayer, Tim Parker; Jimmy Abegg; Essential Records
Short Form Music Video of the Year “Stars”; Switchfoot; Coleen Haynes; Scott Speer; HIS Productions; Sparrow Records/Columbia Records

Long Form Music Video of the Year A Night of Stories & Songs; Mark Schultz; Ken Carpenter; Franklin Films; Word Records
Don’t miss our 2006 Doves photo gallery coming soon!

Related Articles:
A Closer Look at the Winners
Who’s Who at GMA Week 2006
GMA Week Journal Tuesday, April 4
GMA Week Journal Monday, April 3
GMA Week Journal – Sunday, April 2
GMA Week Journal – Saturday, April 1
Check for concert and tour dates on our CALENDAR.
Buy products from these artists on SALE at the CHRISTIAN ACTIVITIES MUSIC & BOOK STORE

Swag out with Christian Activities Merchandise!



Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)