2018 Absolutely Gospel Music Award Nominees Announced

The nominees for the 2018 Absolutely Gospel Music Awards have been announced by AbsolutelyGospel.com. As in years past, the nominees were chosen by the staff of AbsolutelyGospel.com and select media representatives, so the nominees come from a relatively small pool. Starting on Tuesday, January 16, 2018, fans will get a chance to vote for their favorites in several categories.
Chris Unthank, Editor-In-Chief of AbsolutelyGospel.com,commented. “Our blending of ‘critics choice’ and ‘fan awards’ provides a very unique view into our industry. This is going to be yet another exciting year for AGM and Gospel music.”
As far as nominations go, perennial favorites Karen Peck & New River and Joseph Habedank landed the most nominations this year. Both artists landed a stellar nine nominations apiece including individual nods in the Song of the Year category (for “Hope For All Nations” and “Here He Comes” respectively) and Album of the Year (for Hope For All Nations and Resurrection respectively). Karen Peck & New River’s group members Karen Peck Gooch and Matthew Gooch landed nods in Female Vocalist of the Year and Musician of the Year, while Habedank scored his ninth career nominations for both Male Vocalist of the Year and Songwriter of the Year (Artist) (an award he won back in 2011).
Two groups followed closely behind as 11th Hour and The Nelons scored an impressive eight nominations apiece for their work in 2017. Both groups had individuals (11th Hour’s Amber Eppinette and The Nelons’ Jason Clark) land in the hotly contested Songwriter of the Year (Artist) category.
Next in line was The Freemans with six nominations including a Song of the Year mention for their #1 hit song “It Still Takes the Blood. Michael English, Kingdom Heirs, and The Perrys each scored five mentions. Taking four nominations each were the Bowling Sisters, Gold City, The Isaacs, Jason Crabb, Sisters, and Triumphant.
Gordon Mote, HIGHROAD, Lauren Talley, and Tribute all landed three nods. Several artists earned double nominations, including the Booth Brothers, Goodman Revival, Griffith Family, Gaither Vocal Band, Jim Brady Trio, Jeff Stice, Jonathan Wilburn, Michael Combs, Misty Freeman, New Legacy Project, The Old Paths, Steve Ladd, and Zane & Donna King.
Another perennial favorite, producer/songwriter Wayne Haun was the most nominated individual this year, taking a strong 11 nominations for his work this past year, including two separate Album of the Year mentions for his production work this year (for Karen Peck & New River’s Hope For All Nations and Joseph Habedank’s Resurrection. Lee Black, Jeff Collins, and The Nelons’ Jason Clark followed behind with six mentions for their songwriting and production work in 2017.
Songwriter Gerald Crabb earned an impressive five nods as well – including two mentions in the Song of the Year category. Amber Eppinette, Jason Cox, and Trey Ivey landed four nominations. Multiple people earned three nominations including Ar thur Rice, Dianne Wilkinson, Heather Ruppe Bennett, Jeremy Medkiff, Jimmy Yeary, Karen Peck Gooch, Kim Ruppe Sheffield, Michael Sykes, Rebecca Isaacs Bowman, Rebecca J. Peck, Sonya Isaacs Yeary, Tony Wood, and Valerie Ruppe Medkiff.
This year, the AGM Awards is introducing a new category: Christian Country Artist of the Year. This year’s nominees in this brand new category include Tommy Brandt, Chris Golden, Michael Lee, Oak Ridge Boys, Hillary Scott & the Scott Family, Jim Sheldon, and Bradley Walker.
More information on the 2018 Absolutely Gospel Music Awards Celebration will be forthcoming, including hosts, performers, and sponsors, etc. The date for this year’s Absolutely Gospel Music Awards Celebration is Tuesday, April 11, 2018.
The nominees for the 2018 Absolutely Gospel Music Awards are listed below:
“Chain Breaker” – Triumphant (Mia Fieldes, Jonathan Smith, Zach Williams)
“God of the Storms” – Tribute (Gerald Crabb, Savanah Foust)
“He Welcomes the Beggar” – 11th Hour (Jason Cox, Amber Eppinette, Kenna West)
“Here He Comes” – Joseph Habedank (Chris Cron, Joseph Habedank, Tony Wood)
“Hope For All Nations” – Karen Peck & New River (Lee Black, Benji Cowart, Karen Peck Gooch)
“I Will Stand” – Gold City (Lee Black, Jason Cox)
“It Still Takes the Blood” – The Freemans (Gerald Crabb)
“Love Is the Golden Rule” – Michael English (Chip Davis, Dony McGuire, Reba Rambo-McGuire)
“Praise God He’s Alive” – Bowling Family (Harvey Smith)
“Rocks” – The Isaacs (Rebecca Isaacs Bowman, Jimmy Yeary, Sonya Isaacs Yeary)
Hope For All Nations – Karen Peck & New River (Wayne Haun)
Long Run – Old Paths (Jeff Collins)





Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)